نبذة عن المدينة

  •  إمارة أم القيوين هي واحدة من الإمارات السبع في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتقع في شمال البلاد وعلى ساحل الخليج العربي وتمتد شواطئها بطول 23 كم وترتبط بشبكة من الطرق الحديثة مع بقية الامارات الاخرى
  •  اسم "أم القيوين " مشتق من "أم القوتين" الذي يشير إلى قاطنيها الذين عرفوا بحذقهم لفنون صيد اللؤلؤ و قوتهم البحرية فضلا عن قوتهم البرية. وهذه حقيقة تاريخيه تدعمها الآثار المكتشفة في جزيرة السينية ومنطقة الدور.
  •  مدينة أم القيوين هي عاصمة الإمارة، وتقع على الخور بعمق 1 كم عرضا وعلى مسافة تمتد لخمسة كيلومترات طولا. وتضم الإمارة مكتب الحاكم والمؤسسات الحكومية والبنوك والأسواق التجارية وميناء وجامعة معتمدة ومرخصة من قبل وزارة التعليم العالي
  •  ويوجد كذلك مركز الأبحاث وتربية الأسماك، مما يساعد على تطوير الثروة السمكية في البلاد.حيث ان الوظيفة التقليدية في هذه الإمارة كانت صيد الأسماك وزراعة التمور.
  •  هذا وقد اكتشف علماء آثار فرنسيون أقدم لؤلؤة طبيعية في تاريخ البشرية ترجع إلى 7500 سنة في موقع يعود إلى العصر الحجري الحديث في إمارة أم القيوين .وجاء في البيان أن هذا الاكتشاف الذي “نشر في مجلة “أرابيان أركيولوجي أند إبيغرافي” يبين الأهمية التي كانت تكتسبها اللآلئ في المجتمعات القديمة في الخليج العربي وشمال المحيط الهندي، إلى حد أنها كانت تشكل عنصراً رئيساً من عناصر الهوية الثقافية” في تلك المجتمعات .
  •  بالرغم أن من أهم سمات إمارة أم القيوين هي بساطة و جمال المباني وخاصة في المدينة القديمة ولكن لا تزال هي الإمارة الوحيدة من بين جميع إمارات الدولة التي تحتفظ حتى الآن بطابعها التراثي والمباني التاريخية.
  •  لقد تم وضع خطة توسع طموحة لإمارة أم القيوين وفقا لرؤية وتوجيهات صاحب السمو الشيخ سعود بن راشد المعلا  لتوفير الرخاء و جوانب الراحة المعيشية لسكان الإمارة.

 

تصميم وتطوير:

About City

  • Umm Al Quwain is one of the seven emirates in the United Arab Emirates, located in the north of the country on the Arabian Gulf with around 23km of beaches & linked to all other emirates with a modern transportation network.
  • Umm Al Quwain name is derived from “mother of two powers” which refers to its citizens who are known for their talents in extracting pearl, their marine & wild strengths. This is a historic fact supported by the discovered monuments in Al Sinniyah Island & Al Dor area
  • The city of Umm Al Quwain is the capital of the emirate, situated on a deep creek one kilometer in width and five kilometers long. It comprises the Ruler's office, companies, establishments, banks, commercial markets, the seaport and a university certified from the ministry of higher education
  • There is also a research and pisciculture center, which helps to develop fisheries in the country as the traditional occupation of this emirate has been fishing and date cultivation.
  • Moreover, French archeologists had discovered the oldest natural pearl in Umm Al Quwain – 7500 years old – referring back to the new stone ages. This discovery which had been announced in “Arabian Archeology & Epigraphy” magazine shows the importance of the pearl in the old communities in the Arabian Gulf & the north of the Indian Ocean, to the extent that it was representing a main cultural feature identity in these communities.   
  • Although one of the most important features of Umm Al Quwain emirate is its simple & nice buildings especially in the old town but still it is one of the rare UAE emirates that to date maintains its heritage character & historical buildings.
  • An ambitious expansion plan is set for the emirate of Umm Al Quwain as per the vision & instructions of HH Sheikh Saoud Bin Rashid Al Mualla ruler of the emirate to ensure the prosperity & comfort living aspects for the residents of the emirate

Designed & Developed by :